Member Login

AP Names Holmes's Booher, Notre Dame's Levandusky Coaches of the Year in Kentucky

Holmes boys basketball head coach Jason Booher was named Kentucky's Coach of the Year by the Associated Press.

“It’s a huge honor for not only myself but for my basketball staff, which I feel I have the best staff in the state of Kentucky and the Associated Press recognized that with this award,’’ Booher said in a news release.
Sophomore point guard James Bolden was selected to the second team all-state.
Bolden was also named Player of the Year by the coaches association and has been offered multiple scholarships to NCAA Division I schools.
Bolden averaged 18.5 points, 4.0 assists, 4.6 rebounds, and 2.6 steals, all while shooting 42% from the three-point line and 80% from the free throw line. 
Holmes finished the 2012-13 season with a 32-3 record and a spot in the Kentucky Sweet Sixteen's second round, losing to eventual state champion Madison Central 65-61 in overtime.
Booher has been the coach at Holmes for three years. His record at the school is 76-21.
On the girls' side, Notre Dame Academy head coach Nicole Levandusky was named Coach of the Year by the AP. The Pandas lost in the state finals.
The full list:

Player of the Year: Dominique Hawkins, Madison Central, 6-1, F

Coach of the Year: Jason Booher, Holmes

First Team

Dominique Hawkins, Madison Central, 6-1, F

Omar Prewitt, Montgomery Co., 6-5, G

Derek Willis, Bullitt East, 6-9, PF

Darryl Hicks, Lou. Trinity, 6-3, G

Quentin Snider, Manual, 6-1, G

Second Team

Rusty Troutman, Bullitt East, 6-5, G

Shane Hall, Johnson Central, 6-8, F

Camron Justice, Knott Co. Central, 6-1, G

James Bolden, Holmes, 5-11, G

Jordan Majors, Hopkinsville, 6-3, G

Jaqualis Matlock, Hopkinsville, 6-5, F

Honorable Mention

Kelan Martin, Ballard; Demetrius McReynolds, Butler; Brandon Price, John Hardin; Devon Mills, Barbourville; Daveon Greene, John Hardin; Kelton Ford, LaRue Co.; Tyler Roberston, Russell Co.; LaMontray Harris, Pleasure Ridge Park; Deonquez Nance, Trigg Co.; Ray Kasongo, Pikeville; Chip McDaniel, Clay Co.; Ethan Rowe, Pikeville.


Player of the Year: Makayla Epps, Marion Co., 5-10, PG

Coach of the Year: Nicole Levandusky, Notre Dame

First Team

Makayla Epps, Marion Co., 5-10, PG

Becca Greenwell, Owensboro Catholic, 6-1, G

Kyvin Goodin-Rogers, Marion Co., 6-1, F

China Dow, Louisville Christian, 5-10, G

Larryn Brooks, Madison Central, 5-5, PG

Second Team

Ashton Feldhaus, Madison Central, 6-2, F

Emily Fox, Lincoln Co., 5-7, SG

Whitney Creech, Jenkins, 5-8, G

Ivy Brown, LaRue Co., 6-0, F

Kayla Styles, Manual, 6-1, F

Tearra Banks, Ballard, 6-4, C

Honorable Mention

Destony Curry, Manual; Eriel McKee, Anderson Co.; Chelsey Shumpert, Paducah Tilghman; Janssen Starks, Murray; Chanel Roberts, North Hardin; Kasey Young, Danville; Olivia Voskuhl, Notre Dame; Makenzie Cann, Anderson Co.; Chelsey Shumpert, Paducah Tilghman; Janssen Starks, Murray; Madison Rich, Edmonson Co.; Olivia Voskuhl, Notre Dame; Nicole Kiernan, Newport Central Catholic; Whitney Hartlage, Mercy; Maci Morris, Bell Co.; Brandi Smith, Whitley Co.; Taylor Arthur, South Laurel; Denayia Holmes, University Heights; Ariel Johnson, Todd Co. Central; Beth Rates, Hancock Co.; Kasey Young, Danville; Cassidy Martin, Mercer Co.; Chanel Roberts, North Hardin; Erin Boley, Elizabethtown; Morgan Rich, Allen Co.-Scottsville; Aareon Smith, Butler.

Photo: Jason Booher/Covington Independent Public Schools