Member Login

Three from Northern Kentucky Honored by State Historical Society

Three from Northern Kentucky are honored as part of the 2013 winners of Kentucky History Awards, announced Tuesday by the Kentucky Historical Society.

The winners will receive their awards during a ceremony in Frankfort on Friday.

Local winners include Northern Kentucky Regional History Today at Northern Kentucky University in the program/event category, The Beverly Hills Supper Club by Robert Webster and Chronicles of Boone County QR Code Project by Kaitlin Barber at the Boone County Library in the publications category.

The Kentucky History Awards recognize outstanding achievements by historians, public history professionals, civic leaders, communities and local history organizations across the commonwealth.  Stuart Sanders, KHS professional services administrator, added that award winners have shown a consistent effort to promote the preservation and appreciation of state and local history.

Along with the Kentucky History Awards, Preserve America 2013 Kentucky History Teacher of the Year Award winner Christina Cornelius, of the James E. Farmer Elementary School in Jefferson County, and Dr. Aaron Astor, who earned the 2013 Richard H. Collins Award, also will be recognized during the event.

This year’s full list of Kentucky History Awards winners is as follows:



“Northern Kentucky Regional History Day”
Northern Kentucky/Highland Heights

“Civil War Days”
Bluegrass Heritage Museum, Winchester

Documentary film

 “Farming in the Black Patch”
Smith Farms, Murray

 “Anne Braden: Southern Patriot”
Appalshop Inc., Whitesburg


“My Brother, My Enemy”
Frazier History Museum, Louisville


“Archives for the Lay Person: A Guide to Managing Cultural Collections”
Lois Hamill

“Journal of the Jackson Purchase Historical Society”
Jackson Purchase Historical Society

War of 1812 Bicentennial Publications
Fredonia Valley Heritage Society

“The Beverly Hills Supper Club”
Robert D. Webster

“75 Years of Service”
Inter-County Energy Cooperative

“The Kentucky Derby”
James C. Nicholson

“Chronicles of Boone County QR Code Project”
Kaitlin Barber, Boone County Public Library


Award of Distinction
Charles House, Manchester

Volunteer Group of the Year
Fredonia Valley Heritage Society, Caldwell County

Brig. Gen. William R. Buster Award
Major General (Ret.) Verna Fairchild, Frankfort

Thomas D. Clark Award of Excellence
Bluegrass Heritage Museum, Winchester

Lifetime Dedication to Kentucky History
Carolyn Murray Wooley, Lexington

Frank R. Levstik Award
Dr. John E. Kleber, Louisville