Member Login

Beshear Names New Board of Directors for Gateway College

Gateway Community & Technical College now has a mostly new board of directors following appointments made by Governor Steve Beshear on Friday.

The seven members appointed by the governor replace the previous board, the terms of which expired in the middle of November last year.

At that board's final meeting, questions were raised by some members about the feasibility of the much heralded urban metro campus being developed by Gateway in Downtown Covington.

Members Jeff Groob, of Covington, and Ken Paul, of Ft. Thomas, were reappointed Friday.

New members include Julie Smith-Morrow, of Newport, who replaces Martha Johnson; Paul Whalen, of Ft. Thomas, who replaces Richard Jordan; Chad Day, of Covington, who replaces Brent Cooper; Iversy Velez, of Florence, who replaces Katheryn Cook; and Joseph Creaghead, of Ft. Mitchell, who replaces Rev. Richard Fowler. 

Those seven members join a student representative, a faculty representative, and a staff representative on the 10-member board of directors. 

One noticeable change with this round of appointments is that the terms are now staggered. Every member's term expired last November and each term lasted six years. Most had been appointed by Beshear's predecessor in the governor's office, Ernie Fletcher, who reappointed several as his own term was about to be up.

Whalen's and Creaghead's terms will expire in November 2017, Velez's and Day's in November 2018, and Smith-Morrow's, Groob's, and Paul's in November 2019.

Photo: Gateway urban metro campus site in Covington/RCN file

RCN Click Here to Subscribe Today!
RCN Click Here to Subscribe Today!