Member Login

Gateway College Names Exemplary Students

Gateway Community and Technical College will recognize the exemplary academic, leadership and technical performance of 106 students Tuesday at its annual Night of Excellence. The convocation will take place at 7 p.m. at the college’s Convening Center at the Boone Campus in Florence.

Graduation is scheduled for Thursday, May 15 at the Northern Kentucky Convention Center in Covington at 7 p.m. Gateway will confer 1,682 credentials upon 911 graduates. In addition, 315 other people (not included in the above totals) will receive General Equivalency Diplomas from the Kentucky Department of Education.

Michael Dessecker of Bromley and Liz Smart of Alexandria, received top honors as recipients of the J.D. Patton Award for academic and technical excellence. The Student Nursing Organization earned the award for best student organization of the year.

Recipients are selected by faculty and staff committees and academic divisions based on student performance. Individual students receiving awards, include:

Award Winner, City, Award Name

Olivia Fleissner, Alexandria, Student Medical Assistant of the Year

Liz Smart, Alexandria, Massage Therapy Student of the Year

Erin Hart, Bellevue, Interdisciplinary Early Childhood Education Scholar Award

Shaun Philpot, Bellevue, HVAC Student of the Year

Rondrea Smith, Bellevue, Voices Essay Contest, Third Place

Angel White, Bellevue, Criminal Justice Academic Excellence Award

Michael Dessecker, Bromley, IT Spirit of Perseverance

Robert Gillespie, Bromley, Outstanding Developmental Reading Award

Kim Setters Barrios, Burlington, Spirit of Student Support Services

Cori Storms, Burlington, Voices Photography Contest, First Place

Jordyn Wehrman, Burlington, Spirit of Inspiration

Betty Jean Pack, Butler, Voices Short Story Contest, First Place

Danny Riddle, Campbellsburg, Outstanding Apprentice Machinist

Melva Lewis, Cincinnati, Student Support Services Graduate of Distinction

Billy McPherson, Cincinnati, Collision Repair Technology Work Ethics Award and CRT 
     Second Year Student of the Year

Jonathan Ehlman, Cold Spring, Outstanding College Mathematics Student

Kenneth Spicer, Cold Spring, English Department Writer of Distinction

Michelle Ball, Covington, Voices Essay Contest, First Place

Todd Buemi, Covington, Outstanding Manufacturing and Trades Technologies 
     Student and Outstanding Apprentice Machinist

DaShawntae Durham, Covington, Student Organization Officer of the Year, Phi Rho Pi 
      Speech Honorary

Adam Eversole, Covington, Criminal Justice Academic Excellence Award

Paula Hall, Covington, Interdisciplinary Early Childhood Education Leadership Award

Daniela Miron, Covington, KCTCS All-Academic Team and Outstanding Introduction to 
     Education Student

Chrissy Schmidt, Covington, Voices Short Story Contest, Second Place

Raymond Wisher, Crescent Springs, Nursing Fellowship Award

Regina Syndor, Crittenden, Grant County Adult Education Outstanding Student

Brandon Mason, Demossville, Environmental Science Award of Excellence and 
     Political Science Scholar of the Year

Kim Breedlove, Edgewood, Influential New Leader and Student Veteran of the Year

Matthew Malatt, Edgewood, Outstanding Medical Microbiology Award

Thomas Reckers, Edgewood, 2013-2014 Outstanding Apprentice

Taylor Shields, Edgewood, Voices Photography Contest, Second Place

Ashley Phillips, Elsmere, Environmental Science Student of the Year

Tanya Marushkevich, Elsmere, English as a Second Language Award

Danitra R. Brown, Erlanger, Student Safety Award

John C. Davis III, Erlanger, 2013-2014 Outstanding Apprentice

Gary Rice, Erlanger, Automotive Technology Best Student Award

John Brown, Florence, Outstanding Apprentice Machinist

Gloribet Cardenas, Florence, Boone County Adult Education Outstanding Student

James Joseph Connolly Jr., Florence, 2013-2014 Outstanding Apprentice

Jill Gillespie, Florence, Outstanding Apprentice Machinist

Gabrielle Greathouse, Florence, Voice Essay Contest, Second Place

Jacquline Renee Kesterson-Klein, Florence, KCTCS All-Academic Team and 
     Outstanding Educational Psychology Student

Yen Hai Nguyen, Florence, Aspects of Human Biology Award

Lauren Patterson, Florence, Outstanding College Mathematics Student

Adam Peck, Florence, Outstanding Apprentice Machinist

Kristen Price, Florence, Phi Rho Pi Speech Honorary

Claude Rogers III, Florence, Physics Student of the Year

Alex Severino, Florence, Voices Short Story Contest, Third Place

Jaime Trejo, Florence, Student Government Association Officer of the Year

Billy Barley, Ft. Mitchell, Voices Photography Contest, Third Place

Kelly Cocagne, Ft. Mitchell, Outstanding Introduction to Biology Award and 
     Outstanding Teaching Exceptional Children Student

Heather Byerly, Ft. Thomas, Voices Poetry Contest, Third Place

Ndanatsiwa Bere, Ft. Wright, Nurse Aide Student of the Year

Richard Gallagher, Hebron, Voices Poetry Contest, First Place

Francis Allison, Independence, Interdisciplinary Early Childhood Education Academic
      Development Award

Christa Edelbroich, Independence, Psychology Thinker of the Year

Richard Kuhn, Independence, Outstanding Developmental Writing Award

Margarita McConnell, Independence, Spirit of Inspiration

Kathy Morris, Independence, Student Phlebotomist of the Year

Phillip Scott Norris, Independence, Basic Anatomy & Physiology Student of the Year

Daniel Kelsch, Latonia, Outstanding Computerized Manufacturing and Machining 

Charles Staverman, Latonia, Deger-Hall Historian of the Year Award

Mary Miller, Morningview, Kenton County Outstanding Adult Education Student

Betty Jean Watson, New Liberty, Owen County Outstanding Adult Education Student

Steve Kierein, Newport, Voices Poetry Contest Second Place and Phi Rho Pi Speech

Ashley Tackett, Newport, Human Services Program Outstanding Student

Jeffrey Foley, Sanders, Outstanding Computer Aided Drafting and Design Student

Sarah Clark, Silver Grove, Early Childhood Education Spirit Award

Andrew Gabbard, Taylor Mill, Automotive Technology Best Student Award

Nicholas Rainey, Taylor Mill, Outstanding Paramedic Student

David Ritchie, Taylor Mill, Outstanding Developmental Math Award

Krista Hossman, Union, Medical Information Technology Student of the Year

Rhonda Kaihlanen, Union, Anatomy & Physiology I Student of the Year

Darrell Cooper, Verona, Collision Repair Technology First Year Student of the Year

Nicole Day, Walton, Outstanding Visual Communication Student

Patrick E. Kelley, Walton, Criminal Justice Academic Excellence Award

Sydney Long, Walton, Phi Rho Pi Speech Honorary

Christopher Savchick, Walton, Outstanding Information Technology Student

Alicia Taylor, Walton, Spirit of Nursing

Cody Moore, West Berry, Outstanding Manufacturing Engineering Technology 

Stephanie Collins, Winchester, Anatomy & Physiology II Student of the Year

Twenty students were recognized for membership in the National Technical Honor Society. They are:

Ida Mueller, Alexandria

Michael Dessecker, Bromley

Carol Lense, Burlington

Rozella Hightower, Billy McPherson, and Anthony Seymore, Cincinnati

Jonathan Ehlman, Cold Spring

Michelle Ball, Shonda Lynn Griffin, Melisa Halilovic, and Julie Marie Yoho, Covington

Samantha Fieger, Dry Ridge

Sean Paul Jett, Edgewood

Jerry Lynn Rhymer Jr., Elsmere

Cynthia Anne Hester, Ft. Wright

Francis Allison, Independence

Barbara Howe and JoAnn Marie Smith, Latonia

Travis Padgett, Newport

Christopher Savchick, Walton

RCN Click Here to Subscribe Today!
RCN Click Here to Subscribe Today!