Member Login

Ft. Thomas Military Contractor Killed in Afghanistan Receives Posthumous Honor

A Fort Thomas man killed in Afghanistan was one of eleven team members at DynCorp International recognized by the defense contractor firm after being killed or injured.

The eleven received the Department of Defense's Defense of Freedom medal and the DynCorp International Chairman's Purple Star Award.

Michael Robert Bradford, 26, was one of four DynCorp personnel working on the Combined Security Transition Command - Afghanistan (CSTC-A) who were killed by an explosion in Kabul on May 16, 2013. Bradford, a Georgia native who lived in Ft. Thomas at the time of his death, joined the company in November the previous year. He was a civilian contractor at the time of his death and a veteran of the US Army who served in Iraq.

A ceremony was held last week in Fort Worth, Texas.

The Department of Defense’s Defense of Freedom medal was created to honor civilian personnel who were injured or killed in the line of duty; it is the civilian equivalent of the Military Order of the Purple Heart. The DynCorp International Chairman’s Purple Star is one of the highest honors the Company can bestow on a member of the team and was created to honor those who made extraordinary sacrifices while serving customers around the world.

“(W)e come together to celebrate members of the DI family whose extraordinary service deserves recognition by our Company and by our country,” said Steve Gaffney, DynCorp International chairman and chief executive officer.

Jim Grazioplene, vice president, DynCorp International, added, “Every moment that I get to spend with our deployed teams recharges me and reminds me of what’s important. The team members who perform these missions hold in their hands the opportunity, the will and the ability to effect change in the world.”

The CSTC-A team members recognized include Bradford (a native of Grovetown, Ga.) (posthumous recognition); Robert Doyle Halsell of Hatch, N.M. (posthumous recognition); and Angel Roldan of Safia Isabel, Puerto Rico (posthumous recognition).

Team members recognized from the LOGCAP program included William Allen of Pittsburgh, Penn. (posthumous recognition); Timothy Carr of Knoxville, Tenn.; Kevin Davis of Houston, Texas (posthumous recognition); Stacy Grimlan of Alvarado, Texas; Alan Herzel of Pensacola, Fla. (posthumous recognition); Jeremiah Ransaw of Hampton, Va.; Dennis Roberts of Seattle, Wash.; and William Scott of Savannah, Ga.

Photo via Michael Bradford Memorial Facebook page