Member Login

Housing Authority, NKU Program, Civic Leaders Recognized at NKCAC Awards Dinner

The Board of Directors and Staff of the Northern Kentucky Community Action Commission hosted its annual dinner at the Madison Event Center on Monday night. The event was held to recognized Community Partners of the Year for individual programs, as well as recognition of outstanding service from members of the Board of Directors. 

The Award Recipients were:

·         Head Start, which prepares young learners for kindergarten, recognized Master Provisions, which connects resources to people in need locally, regionally, and globally, as its Partner of the Year. For Head Start, Master Provisions has supplied food for families and events. Accepting the award was John Eldridge, Director of Food Operations and Regional Outreach.

·         The Senior Community Services Employment Program (SCSEP) recognized Jill King of Mental Health America, Southwest Ohio and Northern Kentucky, for her work with the participants placed at her office by naming her Partner of the Year. SCSEP helps adults over 55 gain skill necessary for full time employment while they work in service at local community service agencies and Ms. King’s patient caring approach has endeared her to both the Staff at the agency and the participants who work for her according to SCSEP Director, Sandra Lett. The award was accepted on Ms. King’s behalf by John Ashcraft, a one-time participant in SCSEP who was hired on part-time at Mental Health America.

·         The Community Collaboration for Children, which works with families to prevent child abuse and neglect, named Nora Elliot, owner of The Savings Place in Newport, as their Partner of the Year. According to Lindsey Lilly, Director of CCC, The Savings Place allows families in need to use vouchers to shop for necessary items and has even allowed families to come in after regular business hours.

·         YouthBuild of Northern Kentucky recognized the Workforce Investment Board Youth Program, represented by Toni Sloane, as its Partner of the Year.  YouthBuild, which guides young people as they learn career skills and pursue their educations, relied on the WIB Youth Program to help bridge funding and taken on more students, says James Harris, YouthBuild Director. 

·         Kynect, which worked with the uninsured to register them on Kentucky’s Health Care Exchange, chose the Nurse Advocacy Center for the Underserved (NACU), a partnership between the NKU nursing program and the Housing Authority of Covington, as its Partner of the Year.  NACU reached out to the agency to create the partnership to ensure that every person who is eligible for insurance was signed up, according to Dawn Fogarty, NKCAC’s Kynect director.  The award was accepted by Lynn Brown of NACU.

·         Also recognized were Aaron Wolfe-Bertling, who received the Doris Weidemann Award as Board Member of the Year; Wayne Whalen, who was recognized for his 25 years of service on the Board, including two separate terms as president, with a Distinguished Service award; Steve Bradley, who was also given a Distinguished Service award for his term as Board President which included guiding the agency through the Great Recession and the completion of the Magnolia Glen project, a 60 unit low-income housing complex as well as numerous other successes; and In-Memoriam, an award was given to recognize the Distinguished Service of Dennis Chapman, who served on the board for more than 25 years until his death in 2013. The award was accepted by his wife Janet Chapman.

Since 1966 Northern Kentucky Community Action Commission has helped low income individuals and families develop the knowledge, opportunities, and resources they need to achieve self-reliance. The comprehensive range of services include early childhood education, job training, energy and other financial assistance, affordable housing, weatherization, child abuse prevention, kynect enrollment, entrepreneurship, and educational services in eight (8) counties, with limited services in 18 additional counties.

Photo: Award Winners from NKCAC’s Annual Dinner.  Pictured (L to R): Janet Chapman, Toni Sloane, Wayne Whalen, John Eldridge, Lynn Brown, John Ashcraft, Steven Bradley.  Not Pictured: Nora Elliot, Aaron Wolfe-Bertling. Photo credit: Tom Tandy/provided