Member Login

Covington, Northern Kentucky Leaders & Organizations to Be Honored by Chamber

The Northern Kentucky Chamber of Commerce will celebrate its 45th anniversary and honor individuals and organizations who have impacted the community at its 2014 annual dinner.
The event is scheduled for September 18.
The Walter R. Dunlevy/Frontiersman Award will be given to Chuck and Julie Scheper (pictured). Sponsored by Toyota Motor Engineering & Manufacturing North America, Inc., the award recognizes individuals who have a life-long history of outstanding service to the Northern Kentucky community, exhibit outstanding service to their profession or industry, and exemplify the highest standards of personal integrity and family responsibility.
Chuck Scheper served as Mayor of Covington from October 2011 through December 2012, bringing it from the brink of bankruptcy to financial solvency. Julie Geisen Scheper is currently a member of the Covington Board of Education. The former mayor is chairman of Bexion Pharmaceuticals, a Covington-based company working towards a cancer cure. The couple resides in Licking Riverside and were honored as the Covington Education Foundation Persons of the Year in 2013, and were given Lincoln Awards from Northern Kentucky University last year, too.
The Walter L. Pieschel Award will be given to Mark Kiser, president and owner of Kwik Kopy Business Center in Taylor Mill. The award is named for the Chamber's first volunteer leader and is given to an individual who exemplifies service.
The ImageMaker award, sponsored by Central Bank, is presented to an individual or individuals who have brought national or international attention to Northern Kentucky through their achievements. This year’s recipient is UpTech, Northern Kentucky's informatics accelerator based in Covington. The organization located in a previously vacant, rundown downtown building and helps technology start-ups build their businesses. Governor Steve Beshear appeared at Uptech recently for a ceremonial signing of the state's new angel investor individual tax credit bill, a mechanism expected to help start-ups like the ones accelerated at UpTech.
The Unity Award, sponsored by PNC Bank, is presented to an individual or individuals who have shown leadership in seeking regional solutions to Northern Kentucky’s challenges. This year’s recipient is Brent Cooper, President of C-Forward, Inc., a Covington-based information technology firm. He also recently served as interim president of the Chamber, has led the charge in calling for the Brent Spence Bridge corridor project, and is chair of the newly launched United Way campaign.
The Greater Cincinnati Foundation will award the Devou Cup Award. The Devou Cup was created to honor the generosity of a donor who has made a profound difference in the quality of community life in Northern Kentucky. This year’s recipients are Frank and Pat Sommerkamp.
The 2014 Annual Dinner will be held at the Northern Kentucky Convention Center. The evening will begin with a cocktail reception at 5:00 p.m. The dinner and program will begin at 6:30 p.m. The cost to attend is $75 per person before August 29, 2014. Corporate tables of 10 are available. The attire is business. Reservations are required and can be made by calling (859) 426-3652 or online at
Staff report
Photo: Chuck & Julie Scheper/provided