Member Login

Bellevue Swears In School Board, Honors Students

Three board members were sworn in Wednesday night at the regular meeting of the Bellevue Board of Education. Shane Sidebottom, who is the Attorney for the Board, administered two oaths of office for the three, Dan Swope, Dan Sparks, and Jenny Hazeres, at the beginning of the meeting.
Bellevue continues to honor students who are dedicated to outstanding academic achievement. One student from each grade level, from preschool through high school received certificates and had their picture taken with Superintendent Robb Smith and their Principals to a round of applause from parents and friends.
Several items were on the consent agenda, and among them was approval of a Technology Plan as submitted by Janis Winbigler, Director of Support Services.
“We have added a lot to our schools in the form of technology, but we haven’t upgraded our infrastructure, and that is what this plan is for,” she explained. “My initial estimate of what it will cost is approximately $145,000 to upgrade everything. I am hoping that through federal help, we might be able to get about $90,000, but that is an early estimate.”
Other items included paying bills and approval of fundraisers.
A new program called Bellevue Beyond The Bell, run by Molly Russell, was given a glowing report at the board meeting. Russell also brought a strawberry upside down cake made by members of the cooking class. In her report, Russell also announced that she has put together a winter break program which will allow students to go on field trips. In the spring more programs will be added, including a class in archery.
Finally, Phil Eason, former Superintendent from the Ashland School District, introduced himself as an Executive Coach for Superintendent Robb Smith.
“I wanted to be here tonight to tell you that I think Robb has impressed me with his skill and knowledge, and most of all, his commitment to this school district,” he said. “He has had to have 17 days of training, and he has gone to every one. I think he is very good for the board, because a board needs to be very good. If a board is dysfunctional, it shows all the way to the classroom.”
Written by Patrica A. Scheyer, RCN contributor
Top photo: Dan Sparks, Dan Swope and Jenny Hazeres were sworn in as Board members Wednesday night by the Honorable Shane Sidebottom.
Slideshow Images & Captions: 
Several students receive their certificates for outstanding academic achievement. Payton Kern, Mason Cornelison, Evan Kappes, Elizabeth (Lizzie) Smith, RJ Harris, Marissa Hayward and Cora Greis won for their grade and they stand with Superintendent Robb Smith, Principal David Fuller, and Assistant Principal Laurie Franzen.