Member Login

Why Beetle Bolden is Sitting on the Holmes Bench and Not Playing

Holmes head coach Mike Listerman said that James Bolden had to sit out Saturday's game and Sunday's game against Walton-Verona after receiving two technical fouls in the double-overtime win against Chicago De La Salle on December 23.  

Bolden was called for the first technical foul after a tie up with another player where each player continued to hold on to the ball after the whistle was blown.  Both players were called for technicals after staring each other down.
"I didn't have a problem with that one because the ref called it on both players," Coach Listerman said on Sunday.  

Our friends at has video of one of the technical fouls:

The second one was called in the waning moments in double overtime when Bolden was called for hanging on the rim after a dunk.  Listerman said that he thought the foul was egregious because Bolden was simply waiting for a player under him to vacate a spot so he could safely land. 
"Did he hang on the rim? Yes.  Was it showboating? No. It was done out of player safety," Listerman said.  
The head coach said that athletic director Stan Steidel plans to follow up on the ruling to see if it could be expunged. 
"I decided not to fight it and go ahead and sit him now as opposed to January when we might need him more," Listerman explained.  
The Bulldogs had zero problems on Saturday, beating Collegiate (Lou.), 79-34, in the Lloyd Memorial Invitational Tournament. Bolden will be eligible to play again on Monday at the Lloyd Invitational. 
-Bryan Burke, associate editor
Photo: James "Beetle Bolden
RCN Click Here to Subscribe Today!
RCN Click Here to Subscribe Today!