Member Login

Scholarships Awarded to NKU Theatre Students

Talented young performers from Northern Kentucky University made a strong showing at the annual ACT-Cincinnati (The ASSOCIATION OF COMMUNITY THEATERS OF GREATER CINCINNATI, Inc.) scholarship auditions held last month.

Open to university students throughout the region, NKU received four of the six scholarships: 

Freshman Madison Pullins was awarded the $1,500 ACT of Greater Cincinnati, Inc. scholarship. In her first year at NKU, Pullins has been cast in the ensemble of The Bacchae and Les Miserables

Junior BFA Musical Theatre candidate Gabriella Francis received the $1,000 Dee Wacksman Scholarship. Francis was most recently in The Bacchae and is a member of the 
Musical Theatre Tour Troupe.

Sophomore Melissa Cathcart is recipient of the $750 Robert ad Helen Booth scholarship. Cathcart already had a solid list of credits at NKU. She was most recently seen as Mme. Thénardier in Les Mis and earlier this year played one of the Fail sisters in Failure: A Love Story.  She’ll be appearing in the biennial YES FEST of New Plays in April, in the premiere of Encore, Encore.” She’s a BFA candidate in Musical Theatre and in Musical Theatre Tour Troupe.

The $350 Freshman Performing Arts Scholarship goes to Xander Wells. A graduate of the School for Creative and Performing Arts in Cincinnati, Wells was in the Les Mis ensemble and had a featured role earlier this year in The Wedding Singer.

Wells says being singled out for the scholarship is “a great honor. The fact that I’m being supported to pursue a career in theatre, the fact that people think I could succeed at this and feel that I’m deserving of this scholarship, means more than I can say. It’s great to have my passion validated by people beyond my family and friends. It’s incredibly encouraging and rewarding.”

ACT-Cincinnati is a non-profit service organization dedicated to supporting and developing community theatre in the Greater Cincinnati area.  An independent organization unaffiliated with any other community theatre service organization, its membership is community theatre groups who meet and maintain membership criteria established in 1955.

-Jackie Demaline, RCN Arts

RCN Click Here to Subscribe Today!
RCN Click Here to Subscribe Today!