Member Login

4 NKY Officers Graduate from Police Sergeant's Course

Law enforcement officers from 14 agencies across the Commonwealth, including three in Northern Kentucky, were recognized Friday for completing the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training’s Academy of Police Supervision.

APS, also called the sergeant’s academy, is a three-week, 120-hour training program targeted for newly promoted sergeants or officers who are on their agency’s promotion list to become sergeants. 

While in APS, students participate in classes focusing on the role of a supervisor, as well as leadership, resolving conflict, managing diversity, monitoring officer performance, professional image, legal issues for supervisors, ethics, interpersonal communication, effective written communication, making decisions, solving problems, managing critical incidents, public speaking, emotional survival, budgeting, media relations and others.

The graduating class is the 58th to complete APS since the program began in 2003. 

Alexandria Police Department Chief Michael Ward served as guest speaker.

APS is a stepping stone to DOCJT’s Kentucky Leadership Institute, which consists of a series of three progressive leadership courses aimed at developing and shaping future and current leaders in law enforcement agencies across the commonwealth. 

The Department of Criminal Justice Training is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accredited through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 – making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

APS 58 graduates and their agencies are:

Vernon M. Brown, Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office

Stephen D. Campbell, Franklin County Sheriff’s Office

Lucas T. Cooper, Alexandria Police Department

Anthony J. Copeland, Paducah Police Department

John T. DeArmond, Hopkinsville Police Department

William Chester Freels Jr., Daviess County Sheriff’s Office

Steven C. Hilton, Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office

Robert D. Jackson III, Leitchfield Police Department

Kyle R. Rader, Erlanger Police Department

Marc D. Richardson, Florence Police Department

Andrew Rush, Madisonville Police Department

Natalie J. Selby, Alexandria Police Department

Sean Walsh, Louisville Metro Police Department

Shane Weber, Franklin County Sheriff’s Office

Gerald Wheeler, Jessamine County Sheriff’s Office

Scott Wilcoxson, Frankfort Police Department