Member Login

TMC's Scafe Wins Coach of the Year Award, Three Saints Earn All-South Honors

Thomas More College head football coach Regis Scafe has been named South Region Coach of the Year by the internet website,

Scafe, who was in his first season at the helm of the Saints, led the team to an 11-1 overall record and an 8-0 record in the Presidents’ Athletic Conference (PAC). He guide Thomas More to the outright PAC title, which marked the seventh time in the last eight years that Thomas More has won at least a share of the conference title. The Saints made the program’s seventh appearance in the NCAA Division III Championship Playoffs where they advance to the second round. The team’s undefeated regular season was the sixth in the program’s 26-year history.

Thomas More out-scored its opponents by an average margin of 48.6 points per game to 17.3 points per game, while rolling up 501.6 yards of total offense to the opponents’ average of 313.9 yards. The Saints team single-season records for most points (583), touchdowns (80), total yards (6,019), past completions (200) and passing yards (3,411). The team tied the school record for wins with 11 and most games played with 12.

The South Region Coach of the Year honor marks the first time in Scafe’s 20 year collegiate coaching career that he has been name region coach of the year. Scafe also becomes the first Thomas More head football coach to be named All-South Region since started named region coaches of the year in 2005. He has a career collegiate coaching record of 115-91 (.558) with coaching stops at Case Western Reserve University and John Carroll University prior to this season at Thomas More.

Three Saints Earn All-South Region Honors

Thomas More College junior defensive end Erick Butler (Eminence, Ky./Henry County), senior wide receiver Goose Cohorn (Independence, Ky./Simon Kenton) and senior left tackle Jake Henderson (Fort Wright, Ky./Covington Catholic) have been named All-South Region by's All-South Region committee.

Butler was a second team selection by the committee. Last month he was named the Presidents’ Athletic Conference (PAC) Defensive Player of the Year by the conference’s 11 head coaches. Butler totaled 57 tackles (38 solo, 19 assist), 12.5 tackles for loss, and 5.5 sacks this season. He also had two forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries to go with nine quarterback hurries and three pass break-ups. Butler helped the defensive unit limit its opposition to averages of 17.3 points and 313.9 total yards per game, respectively.

Cohorn and Henderson were third team selections. Cohorn led the receiving corps this season with 66 catches for a Thomas More single-season record 1,320 yards (20.6 yards per catch and 110.0 yards per game) and 14 touchdowns. He also had eight rushing attempts for 72 yards and one touchdown to go with 12 punt returns for 141 yards and one touchdown. Henderson helped anchor an offensive line that blocked the way for the Saints to rush for 2,608 yards and gave the quarterbacks protection to throw for 3,411 yards, while only giving up 18 sacks. He is a repeat All-Region selection as he was also a third team selection last season by

Thomas More finished season with an 11-1 record, including an 8-0 record in the PAC and advanced to the second round of the NCAA Division III Football Championship Playoff. The Saints won the PAC title outright, which marked seventh time in the last eight years that Thomas More has won at least a share of the conference title. The undefeated regular season was Thomas More’s sixth in the program’s 26-year history.

- Staff report/Photo: Coach Regis Scafe (provided)