Member Login

See Who's Running in Newport, Bellevue, Dayton, & Ft. Thomas

It's going to be a busy election season in the Campbell County River Cities, with crowded fields, familiar faces, and some newcomers to keep things interesting in Newport, Bellevue, Dayton, and Ft. Thomas.

In Newport, incumbent Mayor Jerry Peluso has drawn a challenger in Christopher Maloney. It was previously reported that community activist Josh Tunning would run for mayor but he later decided to withdraw from consideration. There will be no primary race for mayor and each candidate will advance to the general election in November.

There will be at least one new city commissioner, too. Incumbent John Hayden announced via Facebook on Tuesday that he would not be seeking a fifth term. His name was on the list of candidates that had filed. His wife, Nichole Hayden, is listed as a candidate.

The three other incumbent city commissioners are seeking reelection in the 8-way race: Beth Fennell, Thomas Guidugli,  and Frank Peluso are running. They face challenges from former city commissioner and Campbell County commissioner Ken Rechtin, Rachel Comte, Matthew Cline, Bob McCray.

There will be no primary and all candidates will compete in the general election in November.

In Bellevue, there will be at least one new member of city council. Incumbent Matt Olliges opted not to seek another term. The other five incumbents are running again: Stephen Guidugli, Rodney Poynter, Ryan Salzman, David Slater, and Melissa Tatum.

Meanwhile, two former city council members are back in the race. Bill Helton, who lost his bid for reelection in 2014, and Carol Rich, who was defeated by Ed Riehl in the 2014 mayor's race, are on the ballot. Bellevue-Dayton Fire Board member Thomas Quirk, Bethany Hanson, and Mike Almoslechner round out the field.

There will be no primary for the city council race and six will be elected in November.

In Dayton, all six incumbents will seek another term on city council: Ben Baker, Bill Burns, Jerry Gifford, Denny Lynn, Joe Neary, and Joey Tucker. They will be challenged by Jeff Haas, who finished 7th in last year's race, Alex Kraemer, Jeff Volter, and Bret Neuspickle. 

There will be no primary and all candidates will advance to the general election in November when six will be elected.

In Ft. Thomas, all six incumbents are running for reelection: Jeff Bezold, Ken Bowman, Roger Peterman, Lisa Kelly, John Mueller, and Chuck Thompson, who was recently appointed to fill the vacancy created when Adam Meier left council to take a position with Governor Matt Bevin.

Three candidates will challenge the incumbents: David Cameron, John Slawter, and Sam Shelton.

The River City News will be covering the campaign every step of the way, so follow us online, on Facebook, and on Twitter for the latest.

-Staff report