Member Login

Kenton County Government Academy Recognizes Class of 2016

Thirty-four people graduated from the tenth annual Kenton County Government Academy on Monday evening March 28. The event was held at the Edgewood Senior Center at 6:00 p.m.

Dr. Paul Tenkotte, an expert and author on Northern Kentucky history, addressed the group, along with Judge/Executive Kris Knochelmann and Kenton County Attorney Stacy Tapke who runs the academy each year. 

“The success of this program is made by the continued support and engagement by our elected officials and community leaders, along with the citizens who are committed to learning more about their local government,” said Tapke. “With the challenges facing Northern Kentucky and the Commonwealth, my office offers this program as a way to engage our residents and foster potential community leaders.”

The Academy is a 30-hour program meeting once a week for 10 weeks. The 2016 class met with local government officials-took on-site tours of many government facilities including, Northern Kentucky Water District, Kenton County Detention Center, Animal Shelter, SD1, and the Kenton County Justice Center.

2016 graduate Cole Imperi, found the program beneficial as a tool for her service on several community boards. 

“Not only is Government Academy a great way to get through the winter season, but it’s a great way to learn about the place we all call home. It’s a valuable program and I feel grateful for all that I learned. At the end of it all, I feel more deeply woven into the fabric of Kenton County,” said Imperi.

For more information on participating in the Kenton County Government Academy, contact Susan Topmiller, Public Information Officer for Kenton County Attorney’s Office, at 859-815-1664 or [email protected]

Class of 2016

Shawn Baker
Michael Bassi
Lynn Berk
Caroline Braden
Michele Bradley
Steven Bradley
Lori Brooks
Barb Claybern
Chris Courtney
Laura Crosthwaite
Judi Dooley
Robert Edwards
Sarah Frietch
Lauren Huizenga
Cole Imperi
Victor Imperi
Paul Kleier
Kim Kraft
Mark Messingschlager
Courtney Neltner
Barbara Niehoff
Suzann Parker Leist
Phil Peace
Kathleen Plake
Megan Pope
Kayla Rickels
William Schneider
Katie Simms
Donald Skidmore
Alice Renee Skidmore
Nancy Stratman
Rachel Wells
Kevin Wethington
Jason Worms

- Staff report/Photo provided