Member Login

Premium Content

Photos: Mother of God Church Opens Door for Tour to Celebrate 175th Anniversary

Mutter Gottes Kirche continues to serve a Catholic parish that first got together in 1841.

Mother of God Church, which historically served German Catholics, on Sixth Street in Covington opened its doors on Saturday for a public tour.

The historic and towering Italian Renaissance Revival structure that has become an iconic landmark in the city was completed in 1871. Its familiar large portico and Corinthian columns help the church rival its more famous Catholic sibling, St. Mary's Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption, the Notre Dame replica that draws tourists to Covington several blocks south.

The church's Koehnken organ was installed in the church's balcony in 1875.

In 1986, Mother of God suffered a double dose of damage. In March of that year, a tornado swept through town and damaged the cupola, and while repairs were underway, workers using welding torches accidently set the building on the fire.

The necessary water used by the Covington Fire Department to extinguish the flames also damaged the interior of the building.

After a $1 million restoration, the building was restored to its 1891 appearance. It was in that year that Mother of God celebrated its Silver Jubilee and was remodeled with five large murals depicting the Joyful Mysteries of the Rosary by Johann Schmitt were installed, along with new hand-carved wood altars by the Schroder Brothers of Cincinnati, and two imported stained glass windows from Mayer & Company of Munich depicting the Assumption and the Immaculate Conception.

RCN's Brian Frey joined participants on Saturday's tour and produced these photos.

-Staff report with historical information from the Kenton County Public Library

Slideshow Images & Captions: