Member Login

Gateway Celebrates More than 100 Students with Honors for Achievement

Gateway Community & Technical College recognized over 100 students, from adult education to Gateway’s seven academic and technical divisions, this week at the Night of Excellence awards ceremony. 

“We are pleased to recognize our students who have discovered and excelled in their talents here at Gateway,” said Dr. Fernando Figueroa, president of Gateway. “We know they will continue to do so, and their contributions will improve not only their quality of life, but the quality of our entire community.”

The Night of Excellence Awards Ceremony is in its eleventh year of celebrating students who have demonstrated a commitment to excellence in leadership and/or their particular field of study.

“The Board and I congratulate our outstanding students,” said Ken Paul, Gateway Board Chair. “We are proud one day they will say, ‘we got our start at Gateway.’ Here, students of all interests, ages and backgrounds can get the education they need to achieve their goals.”

The Gateway Community & Technical College Foundation sponsors this student recognition event each year. “The Foundation is very pleased to support the students, staff and faculty who make Gateway the great institution it is,” said Jim Parsons, Gateway Foundation Chair.

Tammy Bleha and Amanda Nurlu receive top honors as recipients of the J.D. Patton Award for academic and technical excellence.

Recipients are selected by faculty and staff committees, and academic divisions based on student performance.

Students receiving awards include:

Awards for Student Affairs

Federal Work Study Student Employee of the Year:  Eggla Y. Mason

KCTCS All Academic Team Award: Katie Daniels and Jill Riede

Outstanding Student Tutor of the Year: Ric Smith

Peer Mentoring Award: Elizabeth Pettit

Project ASPIRE Graduate of Distinction: Drew Wilson

Spirit of Inspiration: Ashley Domaschko

Spirit of Project ASPIRE: Felicia Wilson

Student Veteran of the Year: Seth McKeown

Awards for Academic Affairs

Awards for Adult Education Division

Adult Education Outstanding Student Award—Boone County: Caroline Daly

Adult Education Outstanding Student Award—Grant County: Christina Nacua and Jamie Galliher

Adult Education Outstanding Student Award—Kenton County: Krystal Scholl

Adult Education Outstanding Student Award—Owen County: Christian Tyler Eggleston

ESL (English as a Second Language) Award: Faiza Hassan

Awards for Arts & Sciences Division

Anatomy and Physiology I Student of the Year Award: Jessica Iles

Anatomy and Physiology II Student of the Year Award: Glenda Adams

Basic Anatomy and Physiology Student of the Year Award: Eric Blankenship

Biological Sciences Pathway Student of the Year: Sarah Kremer

Outstanding Medical Microbiology Award: Sharon Shartzer

The Physics Award: Sergio Vargas

Deger-Hall Historian of the Year Award: Zachary Schilling

English Department Writer of Distinction: Katie Daniels

GCTC English Department Voices Essay Contest - 1st Stacy Picazo

GCTC English Department Voices Essay Contest - 2nd Enrique A. Espinoza Jr.

GCTC English Department Voices Essay Contest - 3rd Nicole Winkler

GCTC English Department Voices Flash Fiction Contest - 1st Amanda Bowman

GCTC English Department Voices Flash Fiction Contest - 2nd  Katie Daniels

GCTC English Department Voices Flash Fiction Contest - 3rd Cierra G. Hernandez

GCTC English Department Voices Poetry Contest - 1st  Katie Daniels

GCTC English Department Voices Poetry Contest - 2nd Yabsera Yohannes

GCTC English Department Voices Poetry Contest - 3rd Denicia Williams

GCTC Voices Black and White Photography Contest - 1st Leonora Edwards

GCTC Voices Black and White Photography Contest - 2nd Dawn Cropenbaker

GCTC Voices Black and White Photography Contest - 3rd Tamara Arellano

Inductees into Phi Rho Pi: Abigail Dyer, Katie Daniels and Stewart Newburger

Phi Rho Pi Member of Highest Distinction: Katie Curry

Outstanding Developmental Reading Award: Noah Ruehr

Outstanding Developmental Writing Award: Alvin Foster

Outstanding Student in College Mathematics: Michelle Stout

Psychology Thinker of the Year: Danielle Underwood

Awards for Business, Information Technology & Professional Studies

Above and Beyond Education Student: Megan Sherman

Most Improved Education Student: Eric Rohan

Outstanding Educational Psychology Student: Jill Riede

Outstanding Introduction to Education Student: Rachel Rawe

Outstanding Teaching the Exceptional Children Student: Kathryn Crupper and Abbey Owens

Early Childhood Education Leadership Award: Tammy Bleha

Early Childhood Education Scholar Award: Emily Perry

Early Childhood Outstanding Collaboration Award: Danielle Carrothers, Tami Chapman, Tammy Bleha and Rhonda Schneider

Criminal Justice Academic Excellence Award: Nicholas Norton and Rachel Rentschler

CIT Spirit of Perseverance: Brandon Daniel

Outstanding CIT Information Security Student Award: Micah Wilcox

Outstanding CIT Network Administration Student Award: Jeremy T Gaupel

Outstanding CIT Student Programming Award: Brandon Daniel

Outstanding Cosmetology Student: Keary Mossman

Outstanding Supply Chain Management Student: Luke Walker

Awards for Health Professions Division

Human Services Program Make a Difference Award: Crystal Roberts

Human Services Program Outstanding Student: Rebecca Moore

Massage Therapy Student of the Year: Dorothy Van Huss

Medical Assistant Student of the Year: Rachel White

Nurse Aide Student of the Year: Karley Winkler

Outstanding Health Information Technology Student: Minaz Murad Ali

Outstanding Medical Record Coding Specialist: Jenny Schuliger

Student Phlebotomist of the Year: Denetria Williams

Awards for Manufacturing & Engineering Division

2017 Outstanding Apprentice: Nicholas Klute

Air Conditioning Technology Student of the Year: Neil Bardua

Industrial Leadership Award: Dustin Cole

Outstanding Computerized Manufacturing and Machining Student: Joseph Wert

Outstanding Energy Technology Student: Drew Wilson

Outstanding Manufacturing and Engineering Student: John Staley

Awards for Nursing Division

Academic Scholar Award: Samantha Hamilton

Clinical Recognition Award: Haley Schlicksup

Spirit of Nursing: Madeleine Pendery

Student Nurse Organization Award: Haley Schlicksup

Awards for Transportation Technologies Division

Automotive Technology Best Student Award: Ian Bell

Collision Repair Technology Student of the Year: Charles Watson

Ford Asset Certificate: Ira Baker and Ryan Noell

-Staff report

Photo: Peg Russell, Amanda Nurlu, and Tammy Bleha pose with Dr. Fernando Figueroa (provided)

RCN Click Here to Subscribe Today!
RCN Click Here to Subscribe Today!