Member Login

Cooper High's Kellie Clark is Kentucky Teacher of the Year

Kellie Clark, a 16-year veteran teacher at Randall K. Cooper High School in Boone County, is the 2018 Kentucky Teacher of the Year.

Valvoline, Inc. and the Kentucky Department of Education made the announcement Tuesday at a ceremony held at the Capitol Rotunda in Frankfort. Lt. Governor Jenean Hampton, Education and Workforce Development Cabinet Director Mardi Montgomery, Commissioner of Education Stephen L. Pruitt, and Sam Mitchell, chief executive officer of Valvoline, were on hand to make the presentation.

Belinda Raye Furman, a 2nd grade teacher at Sherman Elementary in Grant County, is the 2018 Elementary School Teacher of the Year. She is a graduate of Northern Kentucky University.

Jennifer Meo-Sexton, a visual arts teacher at Bondurant Middle School in Franklin County, is the 2018 Middle School Teacher of the Year.

The three joined 21 other teachers from across the state honored with 2018 Valvoline, Inc. Teacher Achievement Awards.

“Teachers are our most important asset and these teachers represent the best in the state,” said Pruitt. “These teachers have shown again and again they are committed to doing whatever it takes to ignite the passion, potential and possibility in each and every one of their students. They also serve invaluable partners and leaders in Kentucky education, often going outside of their classrooms to share their insights and expertise as we formulate ways to take all of our students to higher levels of learning.”

Clark received $10,000 and a commemorative glass bowl from Valvoline.

Furman and Meo-Sexton received $3,000 each and a customized, art-glass vase from Valvoline

In addition, the Kentucky Department of Education will provide a sabbatical or suitable alternative for Clark, who also will represent the state in the 2018 National Teacher of the Year competition.

The remaining 21 winners each received $500 cash awards. All 24 teachers received framed certificates and were recognized at a luncheon following the ceremony.

“It is my pleasure to once again recognize the 24 Valvoline Teacher Achievement Award winners and the Kentucky Teachers of the Year. Having the opportunity to recognize and support outstanding teachers that bring energy, passion and dedication to the classroom highlights our commitment to community, especially in preparing students to excel in a global society,” said Mitchell, of Valvoline.

Valvoline and the Kentucky Department of Education co-sponsor the Kentucky Teacher Achievement Awards. Applications for the program were distributed across the state, and the first tier of the selection process was completed in March, with 24 teachers selected as 2018 Valvoline Inc. Teacher Achievement Award winners.

-Staff report

Photo: Kellie Clark (provided)