Member Login

Campbell Sophomore Named to Education Commissioner's Student Advisory Council

Seven Kentucky public high school students - including one from Northern Kentucky - have been named to the Commissioner’s Student Advisory Council, a group that provides input to Kentucky Commissioner of Education Stephen Pruitt.

The newly-selected members will serve at least one year. They include:

  • Anjali Chadha – 11th grade, duPont Manual High School, Jefferson Co.
  • Joshua Griffith – 10th grade, Russell High School, Russell Ind.
  • Evelyn Madill – 12th grade, West Jessamine High School, Jessamine Co.
  • Anastasia Pohlgeers – 10th grade, Campbell County High School
  • William Powers – 11th grade, Somerset High School, Somerset Ind.
  • Grace Raber – 11th grade, Paducah Tilghman High School, Paducah Ind.
  • Parker Stobaugh – 10th grade, South Warren High School, Warren Co.

The seven new members join 15 returning members.

The purpose of the council is to provide valuable feedback from Kentucky students and to engage student leaders in learning by doing. The group will meet with Commissioner Pruitt and Kentucky Department of Education (KDE) staff to discuss how decisions made at the state level are affecting public school students throughout Kentucky and provide feedback – from a student perspective – on critical issues impacting Kentucky students and schools.

The first meeting for the 2017-18 Commissioner's Student Council is scheduled for Thursday. 

Photo: Stephen Pruitt (via KDE)

RCN Click Here to Subscribe Today!
RCN Click Here to Subscribe Today!