Member Login

Newport Catholic Names Latest Class to Athletics Hall of Fame

Newport Central Catholic High School announced the eighteenth class of inductees into its Athletic Hall of Fame. 

The class includes Angie Boden Reckers (’93), Kevin Bueter (’06), Pam Freppon Wurtz (’89), Pat Sheridan (’67), Kevin McDole (’76), the late Walter McGaff (’37), and Michael Zimmerman (’04).  

Also being honored as the “Teams of Distinction” will be the 2005, 2006, and 2007 girls soccer teams which won All A state titles in those seasons.  

NCCHS will be awarding the Coach Jim Connor Award to Mark Kneflin for exemplifying the ideals and traditions of Newport Central Catholic and for the excellence he has achieved in his work and his personal life, a news release stated.  

In addition, the Fr. John Hegenauer Community Service Award will be given to Greg Ziegler (’73) for his commitment to Newport Central Catholic and to the family values NCCHS strives to impart to its students, a news release said.  

The induction ceremony is set for Saturday, February 17 in the Newport Central Catholic gymnasium. The evening will begin with a social hour at 6 p.m. followed by dinner and the induction ceremony at 7 p.m..  

The cost to attend is $25 and reservations and payment will be accepted prior to February 9 in the form of cash, check, or credit card. For more information contact the NCC School Office at (859) 292-0001. 

All proceeds from the event directly support the athletic programs at Newport Central Catholic.

-Staff report

RCN Click Here to Subscribe Today!
RCN Click Here to Subscribe Today!