Member Login

NKY Election 2018: City and County Contested Races in Kenton, Campbell

It is going to be a tough year of campaigning in Northern Kentucky with strong fields for local councils and mayors - and primaries for county offices on both sides of the Licking River.

In Covington and Newport, there are no mayor's races but the city commission is on the ballot. With Jordan Huizenga making a run for state representative, that opens up a seat on the Covington city commission where the other three incumbents hope to stave off serious challenges - including one from former mayor Denny Bowman.

In Newport, the four commission incumbents are all running again with just one challenger, Jason Walter.

Dayton and Bellevue are of interest this year. There will be a primary for Bellevue mayor and in Dayton, the incumbent mayor will be challenged by an incumbent councilman.

At the county level, it looks like Charlie Coleman is not running again as a Campbell County Commissioner, and that Kenton County Sheriff Chuck Korzenborn has two Republican rivals in the primary, and Kenton Commonwealth's Attorney Rob Sanders drew a GOP challenger, too.

Here's a look at the city and county races (i = incumbent):

Covington City Commission

Michelle Williams (i)

Tim Downing (i)

Bill Wells (i)

Denny Bowman

John Flesch

Brandon Mims

Christi Blair

Dara McDowell

Del Shawn Renee Hayes

M. Spears

Shannon C. Smith

With more than eight candidates, there will be a primary.

Newport City Commission

Beth Fennell (i)

Thomas Guidugli (i)

Frank Peluso (i)

Ken Rechtin (i)

Jason Walter

Robbie Hall

Without more than eight candidates, there will be no primary.

Bellevue Mayor
Incumbent Ed Riehl is not seeking another term.
Steven Brun
Charlie Cleves
Bill Helton
Bellevue Council (Elect 6)
Stephen Guidugli (i)
Ryan Salzman (i)
Rodney Poynter (i)
David Slater (i)
Carol Rich (i)
Scott Witte
Shauna Kruse
Terry Hatton
Patrick Hogan
Sean Fisher
Dayton Mayor
Virgil Boruske (i)
Ben Baker
Dayton Council (Elect 6)
Bill Burns (i)
Jeff Haas (i)
Jeff Volter (i)
Denny Lynn (i)
Joe Neary (i)
Johnny Walker Wirick
Scott Beseler
Christina Kelly
Alexander Smith
Beth Nyman
Tammy Cornett
Fort Thomas Mayor
Eric Haas (i)
Fort Thomas Council (Elect 6)
Jeff Bezold (i)
Ken Bowman (i)
Roger Peterman (i)
John Slawter (i)
David Cameron (i)
Sam Shelton
Adam Blau
Mark Collier

Special note about Erlanger: There will be no primary for mayor or council, but two council members are running for mayor, and the mayor is running for council. RCN will have more on this later. See the full list at the Kenton County Clerk's website here.

Contested primary races at the county level:

Campbell Judge/Executive

Republican: Steve Pendery (i), Anna Zinkhon (Democrat Calvin Sidle is running unopposed)

Campbell Commission - District 1

Republican: Brian Painter (i), Lloyd Rogers, Tyler Owen, Dave Fischer (Democrat Connie Grubbs is running unopposed)

Campbell Commission - District 2

Republican: Geoff Besecker, Pete Garrett, Jerry Gearding

Campbell Commission - District 3

Republican: Tom Lampe (i), Jim Livers

Campbell Jailer

Republican: James Daley (i), Chris Maloney

Kenton County Commonwealth's Attorney

Republican: Rob Sanders (i), Sean Fitzgerald

Kenton County Sheriff

Republican: Chuck Korzenborn (i), Seymour Fisk, Marc Chapman

-Michael Monks, editor & publisher