Member Login

Taylor Mill's Jill Bailey Named Ft. Wright City Administrator

After 21 years as city administrator in Taylor Mill, Jill Bailey has accepted the same position in Ft. Wright.

Bailey replaces Ed Butler, who will become chief deputy at the Kenton County Detention Center after two years leading Ft. Wright.

Thirty applicants sought the position in Ft. Wright.

Bailey has a bachelor's degree in political science from Northern Kentucky University and has been with the City of Taylor Mill for a total of 23 years.

“I would like to thank the mayor and council for their support and confidence in me," Bailey said. "I am looking forward to serving as the administrator and working with you, staff, council, residents and the businesses of Fort Wright.”  

“I think Jill is an excellent choice and her appointment prior to my departure will allow us to work closely together for a couple of weeks," said Butler, who is still in his role as city administrator for now. "This will make for a much smoother transition.“

“This was a great process which led to a difficult decision," said Mayor Dave Hatter. "After much deliberation, we concluded that Jill’s long track record of success leading a similar-sized city combined with her educational background, philosophical outlook and ultimately her enthusiasm for the city and our residents and businesses made her the perfect fit for Fort Wright."

Hatter went on to thank Butler for his work.

“Ed has done an amazing job during his tenure as CAO and he’s leaving behind huge shoes to fill," Hatter said. "While we’ll miss Ed’s leadership and insight, I’m confident that Jill will do a great job and I’m very excited to welcome her to the team where she’ll play a key role in ensuring that our city remains a great place to live, work and play!”

After the selection was decided, Mayor Hatter thanked the CAO Selection Committee for their hard work, dedication, insight, and for sticking to an aggressive schedule to ensure that the new CAO would have time to shadow Butler before he departs, a news release said.  

Members of the CAO Selection Committee are Mayor Hatter, CAO Butler, long-time Council members Adam Feinauer, Dave Abeln, and Bernie Wessels.

-Staff report
Image provided
RCN Click Here to Subscribe Today!
RCN Click Here to Subscribe Today!