Member Login

Trump Authorizes Assistance for NKY Counties Impacted by Weather

President Donald Trump has authorized assistance for certain Kentucky counties that suffered significant damage as a result of the severe weather and flooding event occurring from Feb. 21 through March 21, including several in Northern Kentucky.

“We are grateful to the President for issuing an official disaster declaration to aid more Kentucky counties impacted by severe weather and flooding earlier this year,” said Governor Matt Bevin. “This federal assistance will provide more than one-quarter of our counties with important resources as they continue recovery efforts, and I am appreciative to our local and state emergency management teams for their assistance throughout this process.  Let’s all continue to work together to help our communities with their recovery.”

The President's action grants public assistance to 34 impacted counties to repair roads, bridges and other infrastructure due to severe storms, tornadoes, flooding, landslides and mudslides.  The declaration will also provide the Commonwealth with mitigation funds.

Northern Kentucky counties included in this declaration are Campbell,  Gallatin, Grant, Kenton, and Owen.

"The recent award of public assistance and mitigation funding will assist in restoration of our bridges, roadways, and infrastructure damaged in the severe weather and flooding event,” said Kentucky Emergency Management (KYEM) Director Michael Dossett. “Our FEMA Region IV partners are currently on the ground in the Commonwealth, and this declaration will allow them to continue providing recovery services."

-Staff report

Photo: Flooding in Covington (RCN file)

RCN Click Here to Subscribe Today!
RCN Click Here to Subscribe Today!