Member Login

Six from Newport Catholic Selected for Governor's Scholars Program

Six juniors from Newport Central Catholic High School have been selected for the Governor's Scholar Program this summer. 

The juniors are Luke Grothaus, Grace Hatfield, Dylan Johnson, Mary (Maisy) Miglio, Damian Schwarber, and Joseph Whelan.

This prestigious five-week study program provides academic and personal growth in a non-traditional experience at Northern Kentucky University, Morehead State University, or Murray State University.  Students were selected on the basis of test scores from the PSAT, SAT or ACT. Their unweighted GPA and difficulty of course load was also taken into consideration. Students submitted a writing entry and demonstrated what they have done in the areas of extracurricular activities and service. 

"Being chosen for the Governor’s Scholar Program, one of Kentucky’s top student awards, is quite an accomplishment, a culmination of not only copious hours spent in academic study and community service, but in simply applying for the program," said Joanna Loechel, assistant principal of academics. "Thousands of highly qualified juniors from across the state of Kentucky apply each year, and the competition is fierce not only at the school level but then at the diocesan and state levels as well. 

"We are proud to recognize our six juniors and congratulate them on their acceptance to this distinguished program; they truly deserve and have earned this opportunity."

-Staff report

Image provided