Member Login

Beechwood Educator a Semifinalist for State Elementary Teacher of the Year

Beechwood Elementary teacher Amanda Klare is a semifinalist for the 2019 Kentucky Elementary Teacher of the Year award, the Kentucky Department of Education and ValvolineTM announced Thursday.

Klare, who teaches fourth grade in the Ft. Mitchell school, is up against Ashley Whitehead-Judd from Jackson County and NyRee D. Clayton-Taylor from Jefferson County.

The awards for teacher of the year in the elementary, middle school, and high school categories, with three semifinalists in each, will be announced on May 15 in Frankfort.

A blue-ribbon panel of veteran educators selected the nine semifinalists based on their applications, which included information on nominees' teaching philosophies, teaching experiences, involvement in their respective communities and letters of recommendation. The semifinalists are among 24 educators who were named 2019 Valvoline Teacher Achievement Award (TAA) winners last month.

Classroom visits and personal interviews with each of the nine semifinalists follow.

Winners then represent Kentucky in the 2019 National Teacher of the Year competition.

In addition to cash awards, the Kentucky Teachers of the Year receive custom-designed glassware commemorating their accomplishments.

Interim Commissioner of Education Wayne Lewis, Valvoline Chief Executive Officer Sam Mitchell, and other dignitaries and guests will recognize the Kentucky Teachers of the Year and all of the 2019 Valvoline Teacher Achievement Award winners during the awards ceremony later this month in Frankfort. A luncheon will be held in their honor following the ceremony.

-Staff report