Member Login

Thomas More Names Acting President

Dr. Kathleen S. Jagger will serve as acting president at Thomas More College as David Armstrong prepares to step down to take the president's job at St. Thomas University in Miami.
The Board of Trustees announced Jagger's new role on Friday. She has served as vice president of academic affairs at Thomas More since 2015 and will serve as president over the next year while the college looks for a permanent president, a news release said.
“The Board of Trustees has complete confidence in Dr. Jagger to carry on the current positive trajectory of Thomas More College especially since she has played an integral role in the current success of the institution,” said Marc J. Neltner, board chair.
Dr. Jagger holds a bachelor’s degree in zoology from DePauw University, a Ph.D. in microbiology from University of Cincinnati, and an MPH in international health from Harvard University. She began her academic career as a faculty member at Wright State University Medical School.
She has taught undergraduate students for more than 35 years and has led teams of students and professionals on public health and clinical service-learning projects with underserved populations in the southern U.S., Guatemala, Philippines, U.S. Virgin Islands, and Dominican Republic.
She has been recognized by University of Kentucky as a “Teacher who Made a Difference,” by the American Society for Microbiology as both a Scholar in Residence and Foundation Lecturer, and as an Eli Lilly Faculty Fellow.
“I am honored and humbled by the confidence the Board of Trustees has in me to sustain and grow the initiatives and the innovative spirit at Thomas More that President
Armstrong has established," Jagger said. "It is exciting to have the opportunity to lead this extraordinary institution with its mission of offering a Catholic, values-based education that is transformative in the lives of our students and our community.”
The board of trustees will establish a search committee to facilitate the process to find the fifteenth president of Thomas More College.
RCN Click Here to Subscribe Today!
RCN Click Here to Subscribe Today!