Member Login

9 Northern Kentucky Officers Graduate from Basic Training

Twenty-six law enforcement officers from agencies across the state graduated Thursday from basic training at the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training. Nine of those officers are from Northern Kentucky departments.

The graduates of Class 498 completed 20 weeks of training, which consisted of 800 hours of recruit-level instruction. Major training areas included law offenses and procedures, vehicle operations, firearms, investigations, first aid and CPR, patrol procedures, orientation for new law enforcement families and the mechanics of arrest, restraint and control.

Basic training is mandatory for Kentucky law enforcement officers to comply with the state’s Peace Officer Professional Standards Act of 1998. The Department of Criminal Justice Training provides basic training for city and county police officers, sheriffs’ deputies, university police, airport police and others. 

The agency also provides in-service and leadership training for Kentucky lawenforcement officers and public safety dispatch training.

The Department of Criminal Justice Training is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accreditation through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 – making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

Northern Kentucky graduates include:

Alexandra J. Birkley, Covington Police Department 
Monica T. Dietz, Boone County Sheriff's Office  
Marcus W. Harlow, Boone County Sheriff's Office (Outstanding Performance Award for Physical Fitness recipient) 
Alexander M. Klei, Alexandria Police Department 
Ryan M. Mcgill, Boone County Sheriff's Office  
Brett A. Miller, Boone County Sheriff's Office    
Jordan H. Nicoll, Alexandria Police Department 
Nicholas T. Paddon, Kenton County Police Department  
Joseph E. Savelli, Boone County Sheriff's Office (Academic Achievement Award recipient, Recruit of Distinction) 

-Staff report

Photo via Covington Police Department