Member Login

Wheatley, Keene Sign on to Kentucky LGBTQ Fairness Law

The only two Democratic members of the Northern Kentucky Legislative Caucus have each signed on as co-sponsors of the Statewide Fairness Law.
Senate Bill 166 was introduced by Kentucky Senate Minority Floor Leader Morgan McGarvey (D-Louisville). Similar legislation was introduced in the House. Similar bills, which would update the Kentucky Civil Rights Act to add sexual orientation and gender identity among protected classes in employment, housing, and public accommodations discrimination, have consistently failed in the Kentucky General Assembly.
State Rep. Dennis Keene (D-Wilder) signed on to the bill for the first time. State Rep. Buddy Wheatley (D-Covington), who is serving his first term, also signed on.
The Fairness Campaign, which lobbies for the bill, said that it has a record number of bipartisan cosponsors in both chambers of the General Assembly. 
A rally in support of the legislation is set for Tuesday, Feb. 26 at the Captiol Rotunda in Frankfort at 1:30 p.m.
Ten cities across the state have adopted municipal versions of the legislation, including Covington, which is the only Northern Kentucky city to do so. Maysville and Paducah are the most recent additions to that list, adopting legislation in 2018. Other cities include Louisville, Lexington, Vicco, Frankfort, Morehead, Danville, and Midway.
This week, Somerset rejected similar legislation.
-Staff report
RCN Click Here to Subscribe Today!
RCN Click Here to Subscribe Today!