Member Login

3 NKY Students Among Award Winners in State Highway Poster Contest

Three students from Northern Kentucky are among the award winners in the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet’s (KYTC) 2018 Adopt-a-Highway Art Contest, which seeks to promote a clean environment. 

“I am always impressed with the talent and creativity of Kentucky’s young artists to skillfully promote litter-free roads,” said Kentucky Transportation Secretary Greg Thomas. “These art pieces encourage all of us to do our part to keep our roadsides clear, safe and beautiful. Congratulations to this year’s winners and the teachers and parents who play a role in supporting this program.”

The winner in each of four age divisions will receive a $100 gift card, while second and third-place finishers will receive a $50 gift card. First through third-place recipients for all age groups will receive framed prints of their posters. KYTC frames and displays the original artwork in the Transportation Cabinet’s conference center in Frankfort. Additionally, the winning artwork will be featured in the Adopt-a-Highway program’s calendar which will be available in July for the 2019-2020 academic year.

The 2018 contest winners are:

5-8 age category

1st place       Breanne Wichman          Rich Pond Elementary, Warren County
2nd place      Molly Ryan                      St. Joseph Academy, Boone County
3rd place       Chasta Hodge                Toliver Intermediate School, Boyle County

9-11 age category

1st place       Liberty Falica                         Grace Academy, Allen County
2nd place      Michael Harrison Falica         Grace Academy, Allen County
3rd place       Zelah Gabbard                      Walton-Verona Middle, Boone County

12-14 age category

1st place       Amanda Peiffer           Murray High School, Calloway County
2nd place      Olivia Massey             Walton-Verona Middle School, Boone County
3rd place       Miki Harding               South Warren Middle School, Warren County

15-18 age category

1st place      Olivia Onodu      Western Hills High School, Franklin County
2nd place     Kelsie Medley    Pleasure Ridge Park High School, Jefferson County
3rd place      Bradley Peiffer   Murray High School, Calloway County

The Transportation Cabinet’s Adopt-a-Highway program received 1,008 entries from students throughout the Commonwealth for the 2018 contest.

-Staff report