Premium Content

Bellevue School Board Adopts "Nickel Tax"; Foundation Awards $15,000


The Bellevue Board of Education voted to implement a so-called "nickel tax" at its regular meeting last month.

No one spoke against it or for it during the 15-minute public hearing held before the vote.

The nickel tax will add a $.05 equivalent tax rate on real and personal property, which will produce an equivalent revenue of five cents per one hundred dollars of property assessed.  

During the 2018-2019 fiscal year, the district's 5-cent equivalent rate is 5.6 cents, which when applied to the current rate brings the total real property rate to 95.5 cents. This five cents equivalent rate changes each fiscal year in the district, and may be higher or lower when applied to future tax bills.  

The district will not start collecting the additional revenue from this tax until the 2019-2020 fiscal year.

With the revenue produced by this tax increase, the district will be able to renovate existing school facilities, undertake some new construction, and institute a debt service.

School board member Jenny Hazeres pointed out that the schools have had no opposition to this increase at all. Superintendent Robb Smith thanked the board.

"This is long overdue," he said. "This increase will allow us to match the vision we have for the district."

David Fessler, president of the Bellevue Education foundation and Bellevue city attorney, came to the meeting to present a check for $15,000 to the school district to help with technology.

With this check, students at Grandview Elementary will now each have an iPad to use during school hours. The donation freed up money from the district's technology funds, so that the high school will be able to acquire 70 new laptops.

Bellevue High School principal John Darnell introduced Marisa Hayward, who was selected for this year's Governor's Scholars Program. Darnell said that the school had a participant in the program last year, but before that the school didn't have a student in the program for at least nine years.

The program requires the student to be at a Kentucky college for five weeks over the summer for the residential portion.

Several students qualified for students of the month, recommended by their teachers for community service. Robby Thies, Waylon Bravard, Elizabeth Meyers, Dennis Meece, Amanda Babin, Aiden Darnell, and Patrick Vogt, were chosen from Grandview Elementary, and Addy Crawford, Ana Diaz, Jacob Scott, Cameron Williams, Victor Perez, Josh Faecher, and Kylie Hicks were chosen from Bellevue High School.

Written by Patricia A. Scheyer, RCN contributor

Slideshow Images & Captions: