Member Login

7 from NKY to Be Inducted Into Kentucky Veterans Hall of Fame

The Kentucky Veterans Hall of Fame on Tuesday announced its sixth class of inductees in Frankfort. Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes joined the organization's directors, state officials, and the inductees for the announcement in the Capitol Rotunda.

Seven veterans from Northern Kentucky are included.

“The members of the Hall of Fame represent the best of Kentucky,” said Grimes. “Each of these individuals demonstrate selflessness and sacrifice not only in the military but back in their communities here in the Commonwealth. These heroes are coaching sports teams, teaching flag etiquette to fifth graders, deacons of their churches, and leading veteran organizations. We are better because of them." 

The Hall of Fame announced that they will induct 25 men and women veterans from across Kentucky. The class represents all branches of the U.S. military and several different conflicts, including World War II. One inductee was a Prisoner of War during WWII and one inductee is a Medal of Honor recipient. 

"Our organization exists to honor the sacrifice of these men and women who have devoted their lives to community and country," said H.B. Deatherage, founder and president of the Kentucky Veterans Hall of Fame. "We are grateful for our veterans and what they have done. This is one way we can show our appreciation to them."

The 2019 Kentucky Veterans Hall of Fame inductees are:

  • Capt. James J. Bayne, Boone
  • Sgt. Denny Belcher, Bath
  • Csm. Gregory Bethards, Jefferson
  • Sgt. E4 James M. Cartwright, Franklin
  • Ssg. Carey T. Christie, Hardin
  • Air 1st Class Benny B. Clary, Kenton
  • Technical Sgt. Chester E. Elkin, Madison
  • Capt. Cletis S. Evans, Jr., Jefferson 
  • Sfc. Gary W. Finnell, Woodford
  • Petty Officer June Forbes, Jessamine
  • Staff Sgt. Lawrence Gronefeld, Kenton
  • Col. Robert F. Greene, Boone
  • Maj. Dean C. Hammond, Jr., Fayette
  • Lt. Commander Larry A. Huber, Jefferson
  • Col. Micki King, Fayette
  • Spc. William L. Krebs, Boone
  • MSgt. Emerson R. McAfee, Madison
  • Spc. William C. Smith, Franklin
  • Col. John M. Shotwell, Fayette
  • Cpl. Charles H. Stallard, Jefferson
  • Ltc. Dick E. Stoops, Woodford
  • Maj. Charles M. Tirone, Kenton
  • Machinist Mate 3rd Class Robert L. Webster, Boone

The Hall of Fame plaques hang outside of the Secretary of State's Office in the State Capitol. 

-Staff report