Member Login

Simon Kenton Teacher Wins Presidential Award, $10,000

A Kenton County teacher is among four from Kentucky, and 213 teachers from across the country to receive the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

The honor is bestowed upon outstanding K-12 science and math teachers who are selected by a panel of scientists, mathematicians, and educators following an initial selection at the state level.

Debroah Brock, a science teacher at Simon Kenton High School in Independence, was among the winners.

Recipients also receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation and are invited to Washington, D.C. for a series of professional development opportunities.

Awardees also join an active network of educators from throughout the nation.

Since 1983, more than 5,000 teachers have been recognized.

-Staff report

Photo provided