Member Login

Highland Heights Adopts Fairness Ordinance, Third Campbell City this Year

Highland Heights city council adopted what is commonly referred to as a fairness ordinance on Tuesday night, prohibiting discrimination against LGBT people in employment, housing, and public accommodations.

The vote was unanimous as Highland Heights became the third Campbell County city to adopt such legislation this year. Dayton and Bellevue preceded the city. Covington is the only other Northern Kentucky city with a fairness ordinance, adopted there in 2003.

Across Kentucky, there are now sixteen cities with such laws.

“I am so proud to be a part of a growing trend in our Commonwealth to spread love and inclusion," said Highland Heights City Councilwoman Rene Heinrich, who initially introduced the measure to council. "Thanks to the passage of this ordinance, Highland Heights now has taken a stand to say the the LGBTQ+ community has the same rights as others: no more, no less.”

Highland Heights is home to more than 7,000 people and Northern Kentucky University.

The sixteen Kentucky cities with local fairness ordinances, in the order in which they were adopted, are Louisville (1999), Lexington (1999), Covington (2003), Vicco (2013), Frankfort (2013), Morehead (2013), Danville (2014), Midway (2015), Paducah (2018), Maysville (2018), Henderson (2019), Dayton (2019), Georgetown (2019), Versailles (2019), Bellevue (2019), and Highland Heights (2019).

2020 will mark the 20th anniversary of the introduction of a statewide fairness law, which has only received two informational hearings in the Kentucky General Assembly, never a vote. This year, nearly a quarter of state legislators co-sponsored the measure.

-Staff report

RCN Click Here to Subscribe Today!
RCN Click Here to Subscribe Today!